4 countries bordering Russia to limit Russian vacationers

COPENHAGEN, Denmark (AP) — 4 Eu international locations that border Russia will take regional steps this month to restrict other folks from…

COPENHAGEN, Denmark (AP) — 4 Eu international locations that border Russia will take regional steps this month to restrict other folks from Russia from getting into Europe’s visa-free zone by way of land as a result of they “are more and more involved in regards to the considerable and rising inflow of Russian voters.”

“We consider that that is changing into a major danger to our public safety and to the total shared Schengen house,” Estonian High Minister Kaja Kallas stated Thursday. “There are other folks coming with the purpose of undermining the safety of our international locations.”

Poland and the 3 Baltic international locations — Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania — have agreed on a commonplace regional means with the “political will and company goal to introduce nationwide transient measures for Russian voters maintaining EU visas.”

Such measures must take impact in each and every of the 4 international locations by way of Sept. 19.

“We emphasize that this isn’t an outright access ban and often agreed reputable exceptions will stay,” Kallas stated, including exceptions come with dissidents, humanitarian instances, members of the family and holders of place of abode lets in, amongst others.

“Trip to the Eu Union is a privilege, now not a human proper,” Kallas stated, including it was once “unacceptable that voters of the aggressor state are in a position to freely commute within the EU, while on the similar time other folks in Ukraine are being tortured and murdered.”

In Poland, one of the most staunchest supporters of Ukraine in its combat in opposition to Russia’s invasion, the federal government stated the objective was once to “save you direct threats to the general public order and safety.”

Kallas added that the majority visas issued to Russians got earlier than Russia invaded Ukraine in February.

Estonia and Latvia border the Russian mainland, whilst Lithuania and Poland percentage borders with Russia’s exclave of Kaliningrad at the Baltic Sea.

At a Eu Union summit closing month, the bloc’s 27 individuals had been divided over whether or not to slap a vast visa ban on Russian voters, torn between a want to ramp up drive on Russian President Vladimir Putin and issues about punishing unusual Russians who won’t even make stronger his battle on Ukraine.

The EU already tightened visa restrictions on Russian officers and businesspeople in Would possibly, however Poland and the Baltic international locations have referred to as for a broader ban on vacationers. Germany and France are main a push to tighten visa restrictions on Russians slightly than impose an outright ban.

“What we have now noticed within the closing couple of weeks and months is that choice of border crossings by way of Russian voters maintaining Schengen visas has dramatically larger,” stated Latvian Overseas Minister Edgars Rinkevics all over a information convention after a gathering of Nordic and Baltic overseas ministers in Lithuania on Wednesday. “That is changing into additionally a public safety factor. That is … a subject matter of an ethical and political nature.”

The EU already has banned air commute from Russia after it invaded Ukraine. However Russians can nonetheless commute by way of land to Estonia and it sounds as if are then taking flights to different Eu locations.

The 4 international locations are EU individuals and a part of Europe’s commute zone — referred to as the “Schengen house” — the place other folks and items transfer freely between those international locations with out border assessments.


Practice all AP tales on traits associated with the battle in Ukraine at

____ Monika Scislowska in Warsaw, Poland and Jari Tanner in Helsinki contributed to this record.

© 2023 The Related Press. All rights reserved. This subject matter will not be revealed, broadcast, written or redistributed.

Supply By way of